Bowl of Hygeia Award

Established in 1958, the Bowl of Hygeia Award recognizes pharmacists who possess outstanding records of civic leadership in their communities and encourages pharmacists to take active roles in their communities. The award is presented annually by participating state pharmacy associations, including those in the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. In addition to service through their local, state, and national pharmacy associations, award recipients devote their time, talent, and resources to a wide variety of causes and community service.

The Bowl of Hygeia program was first conceived of and initiated by E. Claiborne Robins, Sr., a pharmacist and then-president of A.H. Robins Company. Mr. Robins’s fierce dedication to community service was the driving force behind the inspiration for the award. Today, the Bowl of Hygeia is the most widely recognized international symbol for the pharmacy profession and considered one of the profession’s most prestigious awards. The bowl represents a medicinal potion and the snake represents healing.


  • Must be a member of WVPA and reside in West Virginia
  • Must be a West Virginia licensed pharmacist
  • Must be living – Awards are not presented posthumously
  • Has not been a previous recipient of the Award
  • Not currently serving, nor has he or she served within the immediate past two years as an officer of WVPA in other than an ex-officio capacity or its awards committee.
  • Compiled an outstanding record of community service, which apart from his or her specific identification as a pharmacy, reflects well on the profession.

Past recipients of the Bowl of Hygeia Award include:

1959Charles H. Troxell, Fairmont
1960Joseph W. Pugh, Martinsburg
1961Minter B. Ralston, III, Weston
1962Guy N. Lang, Moorefield
1963Miss Ann Dinardi, Morgantown
1964Edgar B. Moore, Clarksburg
1965Stephen B. Thompson, Vienna
1966William Sidney Coleman, Lewisburg
1967Joseph G. Stevens, Jr., Huntington
1968Francis B. Wimmer, Princeton
1969Isadore R. Wein, Beckley
1970N.S. Bovenizer, Bluefield
1971William J. Plyburn, Barboursville
1972C.M. Hamlett, Keystone
1973Robert H. Shirey, Beckley
1974Carl E. Furbee, Jr., Bridgeport
1975Virgil R. Hertzog, Fairmont
1976William S. Coleman, Jr., Lewisburg
1977Jack Edward Fruth, Point Pleasant
1978Maurice Neil Lohr, Princeton
1979John H. Rice, Shinnston
1980G.E. Fisher, Jr., Bluefield
1981Joseph Monti, Jr., Welch
1982Sam Kapourales, Williamstown
1983Robert N. Lohr, Princeton
1984Thomas Edward Menighan, Huntington
1985Roger Allen Shallis, Inwood
1986George Karos, Martinsburg
1987David Stephen Crawford, Elkins
1988W. Ernest Turner, Huntington
1989R. Scott Criss, Elkins
1990David W. Miller, Sistersville
1991Sandra Elizabeth Justice, Charleston
1992Charles V. Selby, Beckley
1993Thomas L. Carson, Montgomery
1994Donley W. Hutson, Nutter Fort
1995Karen L. Reed, Beckley
1996John Corkrean, Spencer
1997Gary Mastromichales, Weirton
1998Richard Griffith, Cerdo Kenova
1999Roger S. Cole, Wheeling
2000Carol Ann Hudachek, Weirton
2001William “Bill” McFarland, St. Albans
2002Lydia D. Main, Masontown
2003Lora Good, Elkview
2004Charles “Laddie” Burdette, Buffalo
2005Steven C. Judy, Petersburg
2006J.J. Bernabei, Weirton
2007Kelly Massie, Princeton
2008Elizabeth Susan Meredith, Lumberport
2009Dennis Lewis, Chapmanville
2010Betsy Meredith Elswick, Morgantown
2011Patricia C. Johnston, Beckley
2012Eric Belldina, Masontown
2013Arlie Winters, Jr., Berkeley Springs
2014Nicole McNamee, Williamson
2015David Flynn, Morgantown
2016Robert Stanton, Huntington
2017Kevin Yingling, RPh, MD
2018Charles “Laddie” Burdette
2019Craig Kimble, Huntington
2020Fran D’Egidio
2021Krista Capehart, Winfield
2022Virginia (Ginger) Scott, Morgantown
Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 3 files.

Nominator: Submitting Nomination