James H. Beal Award

In memory of Dr. James H. Beal, co-founder of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association, this Award is presented to a pharmacist in recognition of meritorious services performed in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in the State of West Virginia. Dr. Beal was a pharmacist, educator, scientist, author and attorney before his death in 1945 at the age of 84.

He began his career in pharmacy in Ulrichsville, Ohio. He continued his studies on Ohio Medical College and the University of Pittsburgh, and earned his law degree from the University of Cincinnati. He drafted the original state pharmacy practice act, as well as the narcotic and poison laws. He was directly responsible for inclusion of the USP and National Formulary as legal standards in the U.S. Food and Drug Act of 1906.

In recognition of his many services to the profession of pharmacy, Dr. Beal became the first recipient of the national Remington Medal. He came to this state in 1906 and took it upon himself to direct the formation of our state association. At the organization meeting in Parkersburg, Dr. Beal said:

“West Virginia is truly a land of promise with her extensive forest, her rich beds of coal and other minerals, her flowing fountains of oil, and other natural resources.”

The Beal Award is deemed the highest honor that can be given a member of our Association. The recipient must:

  • be a licensed West Virginia pharmacist
  • reside in the State of West Virginia
  • be a member of WVPA for at least 10 years
  • be active in the profession
  • demonstrate meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in West Virginia

In recognition of this Award, the recipient must demonstrate meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in our State.

The Dr. James H. Beal Award shall not be presented more often than biennially. Past award recipients include:

1947J Lester Hayman
1949Roy Bird Cook
1951George D. Young
1953Ernest K. Hoge
1955Fred C. Allen
1957Gordon A. Bergy
1959no award given
1961William Dixon
1963Clyde Roberts
1965Edgar B. Moore
1967C. Herbert Traubert
1969A.F. Bond, Clendenin
1971Frederick L. Geiler
1973William B. Stuck
1975William S. Coleman, Sr., Lewisburg
1977Virgil R. Hertzog, Fairmont
1979Guy N. Lang, Moorefield
1981Albert F. Wojcik, Morgantown
1983D. Stephen Crawford, Elkins
1985no award given
1987John P. Plummer, Fairmont
1989Douglas D. Glover, Morgantown
1991Arlie Winters, Jr., Berkeley Springs
1993Thomas H. Carson, Montgomery
1995Jack Edward Fruth, Point Pleasant
1997Sandra Elizabeth Justice, Charleston
1999Thomas E. Menighan, Huntington
2001Steve Judy, Parkersburg
2003Robert Neil Lohr, Princeton
2005Patty Johnston, Beckley
2007Roger Cole, Moundsville
2009Virginia “Ginger” Scott, Morgantown
2011John E. Corkrean, Spencer
2013Jason Turner, Moundsville
2015Dennis Lewis, Chapmanville
2018J.J Bernabei, Weirton
2019David Bowyer, Charleston
2020Gretchen Garafoli
2021William Petros
2022Robert Stanton
Click or drag files to this area to upload. You can upload up to 3 files.

Nominator: Submitting Nomination