David Bowyer: Recipient of Dr. James H. Beal Award

West Virginia Pharmacists Association selected David Bowyer, R.Ph., to receive the coveted Dr. James H. Beal Award. The Award will be presented him by WVPA President Ken Reed during the Association’s 2019 Annual Convention at the Charleston Marriott Hotel, October 19.

The Award is given in recognition of meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in West Virginia. The Award is sponsored by the West Virginia Pharmacists Association.

David has been very active in furthering the interests of pharmacy throughout his career. He served two terms as President of the West Virginia Society of Health System Pharmacists and was active for many years on the legislative committee of that organization.

Since beginning his tenure at the University of Charleston, David has worked to bring together stakeholders from the pharmacy organizations, the schools of pharmacy, and the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy to develop a legislative agenda supporting the profession.

David was instrumental in the passage of legislation allowing pharmacists as immunizers in West Virginia as well as an update to the pharmacy practice act.

He currently serves as a member of the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy where he is a member of the legislative committee seeking to advance the profession of pharmacy while protecting the public health.