Pharmacists selected to receive awards

“I am pleased to announce the West Virginia Pharmacists Association will recognize selected pharmacists for innovation, improving patient care, preventing drug abuse, meritorious services advancing association programs and furthering the interest of the profession at the 112th Annual Convention, October 19, at the Charleston Marriott,” reports Ken Reed, President of the Association. He will preside over the awards presentation.

Craig Kimble, Director of Experiential Learning, Manager of Clinical Support Services and Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Marshall University School of Pharmacy, will receive the Bowl of Hygeia Award in recognition of his outstanding record of community service, which, apart from being a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession of Pharmacy.

David Bowyer will be presented the Dr. James H. Beal Award in recognition of meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of Pharmacy in West Virginia. David practices at the University of Charleston School of Pharmacy and is a member of the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy.

Matthew M. Rafa, who practices at Kroger Pharmacy in Wheeling, will receive the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award. He actively participates in national pharmacy associations, professional programs, state association activities and community service.

Michael C. Lemasters, owner and manager of Pierpont Landing Pharmacy in Morgantown, will receive the Rx Champion Award in recognition of his efforts to prevent drug abuse and diversion.

Heidi N. Romero, a practicing pharmacist at Griffith & Feil Drug in Kenova, will be presented the Excellence In Innovation Award for demonstrating innovative pharmacy practice resulting in improved patient care.