Pharmacists gather to celebrate 111th Annual Convention

Pharmacists are meeting at the Charleston Marriott, August 17 and 18, to celebrate the West Virginia Pharmacists Association’s 111th Annual Convention.

Continuing education courses scheduled include: APhA Immunization Certificate Program; Drug Diversion; More Soup for You; Hot Topics and Advocacy – Creating Your Future Starts Now and Getting Hired in a Tough Job Market; West Virginia Pharmacy Law Update; Immunization Update; and Student Pharmacist Self-Care Championship.

Up to nine and one-half hours of approved continuing education courses are available for pharmacists to enhance their professional skills and maintain their license, including a three-hour drug diversion course required of pharmacists every two years for licensing.

Presenting the courses are: Olivia Bunner of WVU School of Pharmacy; Krista Capehart of WVU School of Pharmacy; Adam Chester, Director of Regulatory Affairs for CardinalHealth; Kerry Cormier, Recruitment Strategist for CVS Health; Allison DeLancey of WVU School of Pharmacy; Dani Dolin of White Hall Pharmacy; Mark Garofoli of WVU School of Pharmacy; Michael Goff, Interim Director of WV Board of Pharmacy; Kelsi Hines of WVU School of Pharmacy; Craig Kimble of Marshall University School of Pharmacy; Lan Le of WVU School of Pharmacy; Matthew Rafa of Kroger Pharmacy; Crystal Vance of Cabell Huntington Hospital; and Janet Wolcott of Cabell Huntington Hospital.

Vendors exhibiting products and services available to pharmacists include: AbbVie, American Pharmacy Cooperative, American Pharmacy Services Corporation, Cardinal Health, Mylan, McKesson, Pharmaceutical Dimensions, Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies, and WV Board of Pharmacy.

The State’s three schools of pharmacy – Marshall University, University of Charleston and West Virginia University – are hosting a reception honoring WVPA Past Presidents.

Awards will be presented selected pharmacists in recognition of their professional accomplishments and advances in providing patient care.   They are: J. J. Bernabei recipient of the Dr. James H. Beal Award sponsored by the West Virginia Pharmacists Association; Charles “Laddie” Burdette, recipient of the Bowl of Hygeia sponsored by the American Pharmacists Association; Chelsea Gresham, recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies; Mark Garofoli, recipient of the Generation Rx Champion’s Award sponsored by Cardinal Health; and Gretchen Kreckel Garofoli, recipient of the Excellence In Innovation Award sponsored by Upshur-Smith Laboratories.

WVPA officers meeting to plan the Association’s activities for the coming year are: Craig Kimble, President; Ken Reed, President Elect and Incoming President; Crethen Kreckel-Garololi, Secretar; Karen Reed Treasurer; Robert Stanton, Director at Large; Dani Dolin, Director at Large; Eric Belldani, Community Pharmacist Director; Matthew Rafa, Employed Pharmacist Director; Stephen Carter, Institutional Pharmacy Director; Gayle Brazeau, Dean of Marshall University School of Pharmacy; Michaelle Easton, Dean of University of Charleston School of Pharmacy; and William Petros, Dean of WVU School of Pharmacy.

To stay informed go to: