Pharmacist J. J. Bernabei to receive coveted Dr. James H. Beal Award

J. J. Bernabei has done a tremendous amount to advance pharmacy services in northern West Virginia for over 20 years as well as served the profession and state im important ways.   He will be presented the Dr. James H. Beal Award at the West Virginia Pharmacists Association’s 111th Annual Convention, August 18, at the Charleston Marriott Hotel.

He has pushed for state of the art approaches while growing his pharmacy operations from one location into four independent operations with over 85 employees and importantly expanded services into the fields of compounding, long-term care, specialty, and home medical equipment.

Additionally he advances the profession by engendering patient advocacy.  J. J.’s approach of “treating every patient like our grandmother” certainly creates incredible admiration of our profession.

Service beyond a typical work setting is also an important component to his being selected for this coveted award.  A Past President of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association and long-time member of the Association, he currently serves on the West Virginia Board of Pharmacy.   He has been a member of the Board of Trustees for Weirton Medical Center since 2006 and has served as President of the Weirton Area Chamber of Commerce and boards of directors for the Weirton Salvation Army and Weirton Parks.

J. J. has furthered the interests of the pharmacy profession through his care of patients, building a state of art business, leadership of pharmacy organizations, and community leadership.

Given every other year, the Beal Award is the highest honor given a member of the West Virginia Pharmacists Association.   The recipient must be a licensed West Virginia pharmacists, residing in our State and a members of the Association for at least 10 years.

Dr. James H. Beal, co-founder of our professional association, he began his career in pharmacy in Ulrichsville, Ohio.   He continued his studies at Ohio Medical College and the University of Pittshburgh, and earned his law degree from the University of Cincinnati.

Dr. Beal drafted the original state pharmacy practice act, as well as the narcotic and poison laws.  He was directly responsible for inclusion of the USP and National Formulary as legal standards in the U. S. Food and Drug Act of 1906.

In recognition of his many services to the profession of pharmacy, Dr. Beal became the first recipient of the national Remington Medal.  He came to West Virginia in 1906 and took it upon himself to form what was then the West Virginia State Pharmaceutical Association.   At the organizational meeting in Parkersburg, Dr. Beal said, “West Virginia is truly a land of promise with her extensive forest, her rick beds of coal and other minerals, her flowing fountains of oil and other national resources.”