110th Annual Convention Award Recipients Announced

The West Virginia Pharmacists Association 110th Annual Convention, September 23 and 24, 2017, at the Charleston Marriott Hotel will witness presentations of various awards to members in recognition of their contributions to the profession of pharmacy, as well as their improving patients’ health and contributing to their communities.

The awards will be presented following a reception honoring past presidents and Annual Convention dinner.  Award recipients include the following.

Kevin Yingling, R.Ph., M.D., will receive the Bowl of Hygeia Award in recognition of his outstanding record of community service, which, apart from being a pharmacist, reflects well on the profession.  The award is sponsored by the American Pharmacist Association Foundation and the National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations with support from Boehringer Ingelheim.

Rickey Griffith, R.Ph., is recipient of the Dr. James H. Beal Award as evidence of his meritorious services in furthering the interests of the profession of pharmacy in West Virginia.  The award is sponsored by the West Virginia Pharmacists Association.

Jason Turner, Pharm.D., will be presented the Excellence In Innovation Award in recognition of his innovative pharmacy practice that has improved patient care.  The award is sponsored by Upsher-Smith Laboratories.

John H. Hudson, Pharm.D., is recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award, recognizing his excellence and outstanding contributions to the West Virginia Pharmacists Association and his community.  The award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Companies.

Matthew M. Rafa, Pharm.D., will be presented the Generation Rx Champion’s Award for demonstrating specific efforts to prevent drug abuse and diversion.  The award is sponsored by Cardinal Health.